Running with kids

Posted: January 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

Two of my long runs this week were with jogging strollers! And boy do I wish I had a good one this week. When my 30lb+ daughter got out of the stroller after 11 miles I was shocked! Light as a feather. I used a Schwin the second time and loved it! I know it’s a little late in the game for some moms to think about investing in a good jogging stroller but there are plenty of craigslist and garage sales if you have the time to scout them out!

Two hours is a long time but we kept busy with;

  • singing,
  • she chanted “go, go, further, faster,” for a couple miles..
  • we talked about how her hair is turning brown from blonde,
  • the windmill we found,
  • looking for Auntie Em and her cross country team,
  • playing in the sand for a bit,
  • pushing the street-crossing buttons,
  • stopping for frozen yogurt (I saved mine!)
  • and looking for water fountains 🙂

Registered for my next race, and it’s going to be a doozy! It’s the Golden Gate Half Marathon and will be my first half. The trail is a 2,420 ft elevation gain around Sausalito. Ah! There is race on a flat half marathon trail around my stomping grounds the weekend before but I think I will volunteer that event with the Golden Gate Running Club. Why not reach for something BIG!

Leave a Reply

