My FIRST registration!

Posted: December 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

I registred for a race! I am set to start 2012 with a New Years Day race- The Brazen Marathon, 10K/5K. I will be doing the 10K to figure out how I perform in a road/trail race before I think about a half marathon. I’m also excited because it’s right over the Bay Bridge in Oakland.

I have found a good training schedule and just completed my 8 mile run yesterday at a pace of 9.44 miles/hour to make for 1 hour 15.55 minutes! My legs were pretty sore the rest of the day but to prevent injury I’ve been focusing a lot on stretching before and after. Say no to shin splintssss

My first injury since I started working out in May occurred this past week though.. I have an appointment this coming Tuesday at a Neurology Clinic to figure out if it’s a pinched nerve in my shoulder or some kind of tear. AHH! My knee feels great though (had two knee surgeries in high school) that I swear are because of these shoes I have been using: New Balance Minimus! They make me happy.

Minimus is a whole new approach to footwear, a place on the spectrum from barefoot running to the traditional maximum-cushioning running shoe. Inspired by Good Form Running and designed to be worn with or without socks. With only a 4mm drop from heel to toe, as little as a third of that of a traditional running shoe, the Minimus collection holds a world of discovery for neutral runners as well as those with gait issues or chronic injury to conquer by learning better form.

I have a very high arch in both feet so I did actually but a “Orthopedic Knee” insert from Walgreen for under $10 to put in it- but they fit like a glove! In my running club, there is someone with each color of the shoe- it’s pretty hilarious. This week with the Run Chuggers we ran around the Embarcadero and AT&T park in our longest and fastest run yet! (8.4 miles/hour)!!! Even though I talked with my daughter, Amy, on the phone for a little while I was just enjoying the evening and taking in the pace I set.  Have a great weekend!

❤ Kelly

Leave a Reply

